ADA -  “Average Daily Allotment,” as related to the money received per student per
instructional day. Sometimes the term “FTE” is used instead. See “FTE” below.

API – The “Academic Performance Index,” as established by the “No Child Left Behind"
act (NCLB) initiated by President G. W. Bush. This is primarily a combination of
Standardized Test Scores, the number of sophomores who pass the High School Exit
Exam, and the production of Annual Yearly Progress (AYP). This is also based upon
Common Core outcomes if your state has chosen Common Core over NCLB.

AYP – “Adequate Yearly Progress,” an indicator through API scores and other indicators
of how a school is progressing or not from one year to the next. These criterion are set by
the district or state mandates.

BIA – “Bilingual instructional Aids,” which are typically used in either classes teaching
remedial English, or in the mainstream classroom.

BICS – “Basic Interpersonal Communication Skills,” thought of as “playground language,”
or the ability to communicate well enough to have fun at play while communicating at an
early -intermediate stage of development.

CALP – “Cognitive Academic Language Proficiency.” This is when an English Language
Learner (ELL) has been designated as “proficient,” and is capable of reading, writing,
listening, and speaking at an “academically proficient” level in English.

Common Core - The model of teaching via a task based system, with "Big Ideas" and
"Essential Questions" breaking down State Standards in core subject areas. This is a
move beyond NCLB standards based teaching, and has been adopted (as of this writing)
by 46 states within the US. The overall intention is to lessen the number of Standards
taught, by sequencing them into "priority" versus "supporting" standards. This is intended
for more comprehensible input and greater outcomes by the student.

Core subjects - These are English (ELA), Math, Science, and the Social Sciences.

Drop Out Rate – The percentage of students who do not make it through all required
levels of study required for graduation, leaving the academic system entirely.

ELL – “English Language Learner.”

ESL – “English as a Second Language.”

FTE – “Full Time Equivalent,” as related to the money received per student per
instructional day. Sometimes the term “ADA” is used instead. See “ADA” above.

HSEE – The “High School Exit Exam.” Typically written at an 8th grade level (in the United
States), students are tested for the ability to function at this level within society and the
workplace. If unable to pass this test, students do not receive a graduation diploma.
Different states in the US typically use their state designation within this, such as
California uses the acronym “CAHSEE” as a descriptor.

Language Proficiency – There are five levels of English language learners –
“Beginning,” “Beginning Intermediate,” “Intermediate,” “Beginning Proficient,” and
“Proficient.” Once designated as proficient, an English Language Learner (student) is
considered a mainstream learner on a CALP level (see “CALP” above).

Mainstream Classroom – Those classes that are taught In English only. In most states,
all classrooms are taught “overwhelmingly in English,” with students receiving remedial
help with Bilingual Instructional Aids  (BIA’s)

NCLB – The “No Child Left Behind” Act enacted by President G. W. Bush, intended to
hold schools accountable for student achievement. See “API” above for a description of
what this requirement entails.
Glossary of Terms